top of page

Starker Music Carnival

Went for my first ever music carnival last Saturday to show my support for some of our local talents, Ling Kai & Alfred Sim, and most importantly, A-LIN! Tried to catch her on the streets, but as usual, I had no luck at all. Let's hope I will have better luck next round !


Ling Kai . Chanced upon her performance on one of the China's variety programs【中國好歌曲】in 2014 and she caught my attention when she mentioned that she was from Singapore during the self introduction. To be honest, I really felt that the song that she used for the competition 『一個人』was amazing! And what's more, she is also a fan of Tanya Chua, who is also a Singaporean! Really love the version whereby she sang it together with Sodagreen's 青峰! Alright, back to her performance at Starker Music Carnival. Her performance that night was not too bad, love her rendition of 『狼人』as it really showcases her powerful vocals. And I also fell in love with one of her own songs 『本能』after that night, but somehow felt that it brought down the atmosphere of that night by a bit. Probably because not a lot of people actually knows her yet. But still, job well done Ling Kai! Keep striving, you will make it big one day!


Alfred Sim . The 2nd highlight of the night. I must admit that I only came to know about him through his wife, Tay Kewei, who is also a really talented singer-songwriter in Singapore! Actually, I prefer his wife more than him, oops! Love the duet he had with his wife -『以為的以為』, it's a really nice song, I highly recommend you to listen to it! I would say that out of all the songs he performed that night, I love 『一直都在』the most due to its sad rhythm. Anyway, congrats on being a dad!


A-LIN . Was so looking forward to the arrival of this day the moment I know that she is coming to Singapore for this event. I could never have enough of her live singing because they were so enjoyable and so awesome. To add on to that, I am totally mesmerised by her easy-going character! It's totally rare to see an international superstar nowadays to still remain so humble. She never fails to disappoint her fans with her performance every time and she was simply amazing that night! Her performance was an hour long and although most of the songs were from her new album, which I had yet to familiarise myself with, but I still love all the songs that she performed for that night. The crowd went totally high the moment she came on stage and I love the way she drive the crowd as well. That feeling is indescribable, but I could really sense that she is really enjoying herself to the fullest, giving her 101% for the performance. I was simply touched when she handed out the microphone to the crowd during 『忘記擁抱』&『給我一個理由忘記』and the crowd just automatically sent along with her. It just felt like we are attending her SONAR concert instead. Thank you A-Lin for the amazing performance, and I can't wait to fly over to Taiwan next year for your concert! Let's hope that I can have the chance to meet you face-to-face & have a small conversation with you the next time you are here in Singapore again, probably next year?

You can view more photos of A-Lin at the carnival that night at this link here: Starker Music Carnival 2017 or the entire album of at my facebook.

Lastly, I highly recommend her new album 【A-Lin 同名專輯】to everyone! The songs are really different from the usual genres that she sang in the past. If you have yet to get the physical album, you can purchase it from CD-RAMA at popular bookstore or through iTunes or KKBOX !

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page