top of page

A Virgin Trip To Taiwan !


It had been rather long since I last blogged. My apologies as I had been held up with alot of things/changes going on.


First post in the new year of 2018! Well, 2018 has started in an exciting yet rough way for me, there are many "First Time" for me this year.


I finally visited the country that I had always wanted to visit in ages - taiwan ! Though it was only a short 4-days trip, but I would say that it is rather fulfilling. Managed to visit quite a couple of places despite the packed schedule, but it is alright as I am sure that I will be back again, soon I hope.


Was pretty fortunate that the weather during our time of visit was awesome - having chilly wind blowing all day long, allowing me to put my jacket into good use. It somehow reminds me of those times in the states, which was 2 years back. Walking along the streets with a jacket without any sweat is considered to be a luxury for someone living in a humid country like Singapore.



Oh well, it is also my first time visiting a country which converse entirely in mandarin and I am certainly not used to it.


Besides the difference in weather, I also realised that they have a shorter day and longer night there; the sun rises at about 6:40AM and sets at about 5:30PM (which is so much earlier than Singapore, which is around 7PM?). This has also led to us having to rush through some of the iconic spots in Cijin Island and cycling in the dark along the beach without any headlights, not knowing when you will cross path with a rat.


Also managed to visit one of their many night markets in Ruifeng during the second day. I would say that it is somewhat similar to those Pasar Malam that we have in Singapore, just that theirs is much bigger and more happening! Visiting their night market has made me realised how kids from the younger generation in Singapore are so addicted to their electronic Gadgets that they are missing out a lot of their "childhood". I would not be surprised if the primary school kids nowadays don't know the existence of those traditional games we used to play so very often when we were young. It's also kind of saddening to see that pasar malam are starting to draw lesser crowds in Singapore. Guess this is the impact that technology has made in our lives.


Unfortunately, I didn't managed to take a lot of nice photos of the places I visited as I wanted to save the SD card storage space for the concert that I will be attending, which was the main reason that brought me to Taiwan. Let's hope that I can go back there again, probably next year? Despite that, I still managed to do up a short video clip of my trip to Taiwan to share with you guys! You can view the video and the gallery here!



Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page