top of page

DECEMBER x REFLECTION

It's finally December, the last month of the year and the time for a little self reflection.

2017 has not been really smooth-sailing for me, especially for career wise, simply cause most of the things did not went the way I expected it would be. Though I have been in the workforce for almost a year now, but I felt as if I had yet to achieve anything. And on top of that, it certainly doesn't feels good when you start seeing your ex-schoolmates or friends celebrating 2 years of work anniversary or holding managerial positions in some high-class hotel but you are still a nobody. Though I tried hard not to let my mother's words bring me down, but there are still times when i really do not feel good about myself, about what i am doing. It makes me wonder if I am really such a failure in life or perhaps my time to shine has yet to arrive?


As for personal wise, I would say that I have finally taken a step closer to achieving the target I set for myself. Just last month, I attended my first ever vocal training lesson in Hark Music. Though it was only a 1-day jumpstart program, but it really gave me a lot of insights to the various proper singing techniques. I never thought that singing would be so difficult, but I am really glad that I took this course. The coaches were not selfish in sharing their knowledge with us and I could really feel their sincerity in coaching us, ensuring that we utilized those techniques correctly. Furthermore, it also boost our confidence when performing in public as we were required to do a self-introduction in front of everyone in the first hour of the lesson, sing the chorus of our favorite song without any music in front of everyone, and also perform a short part of the song of our choice, this time with music & utilizing the techniques that were taught, towards the end of the program. What a fruitful session. Besides the coaching part, I was also fortunate enough to have my coach shared with me his singing journey. And WOW, I was truly amazed by his courage, perseverance, and determination. I guess it is never easy to carve a career with music as your passion, and it never will be. I do not dare to dream that I will make it big, as there are too many talents out there in this world, but I still want to hold on to the hope that one day, I can establish my own YouTube Channel doing covers of the songs I love, and perhaps be a regular at a bar that supports mandopop? Would that be a too overwhelming ambition?


Even though I may not have the support of my mom & sis, cause they are always so against of me having anything to do with music/singing, but i feel so thankful that I have these 3 fellas here who love music as much as i do. we may be from different background, holding different jobs, leading different lives, but our passion for singing somehow brought us together and that, is the beauty of music. we may be short of 1 fella now, but i believe that one day, we will come up with our own covers together. i really really do look forward to doing covers with you guys! aku-pella ~~

and of course, also not forgetting many of you out there who are so ever supportive of me doing something i love. life is too short to be living with regrets, so do the things you loved & love what you are doing.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page