top of page

『也可以』- My Very First Cover.

So, after what felt like an eternity, I finally got my 1st music cover done 2 weeks ago! It had certainly not been easy - from all the saving up and getting the necessary equipments (which took me approx 3 years) to recording to filming and then to editing. But I must say I enjoyed every moment of it and I could do it all day long (if only I could).


But why「也可以」and not S.H.E’s or A-Lin’s songs, as most of my friends would have known that those two are my all-time favourite singers? Well, because I thought this song would be easy and I love how Janice 閻奕格, the original singer, sang it. But, I was wrong. This song was not as easy as I thought it would be, especially with the sudden rise in high notes in the chorus. Being someone who is not that strong in singing using my chest voice, the interchanging of notes was so difficult for me and it only gets harder as it enters the peak of the song. I couldn’t even remember how many times I had to record it before eventually making it acceptable. Though it may not sound as nice as how 格格 sang (that’s simply impossible) and there’s certainly much room for improvements, but I am still very satisfied with the end result.


Of course, this cover would never have been successful if not for the help from a few friends (you know who you are), and I wanna thank you guys. Thanks for being ever so spontaneous in picking out my pitching and giving me tips/advices here and there! I really really do appreciate it, and I hope you can continue to do so for my future covers as well.


While I may have struck an item off my bucket list, but I am definitely doing more covers in the future and hopefully, I would be less reliant on the MMOs as the time goes by.


A “like” by 格格 herself on Instagram. Not sure if she really listen to the short 1-minute version, but I am still equally happy!

You can check out my YouTube Channel - jiayi22 for the cover or visit the “Music” page in this blog. :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page